Administration in Panvel

The 30 decades old Panvel city is divided in two parts, New Panvel East with 23 sectors and New Panvel West (also known as Old Panvel) with 19 sectors. Panvel is administered, developed and run by the oldest municipal council of Maharashtra, i.e. Panvel Municipal Council (PMC) and City and Industrial Development Corporation (CIDCO). PMC was formed in 1852 and election for its Mayor’s position started in 1910. CIDCO headquarter is in Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra and it was formed in 1970.

Panvel Administration

Responsibilities of PMC and CIDCO

PMC is liable for multiple responsibilities to provide various basic amenities to the city. CIDCO is responsible for all the developments in the city. It is responsible for prevention of population influx and rational distribution of industries. It provides the urban alternatives to the increasing population along with the basic civic amenities. Out of various responsibilities, following are a few major amenities provided by PMC and CIDCO:
  • Art and culture promotion
  • Heritage conservation
  • Maintaining the record of births and dates of the residents
  • Managing public complaints registration and complaint status
  • Development of land to provide the required infrastructure
  • Development and maintenance of roads, bridges and streetlights
  • Providing drinking water to the city
  • Waste management by looking after the drainage and sewerage system
  • Offering a healthy and energizing atmosphere in order to utilize human resources
  • Providing basic amenities to the citizens
  • Building school, colleges to provide education to the kids and youth of the city
  • Building and maintaining community centres, playgrounds, and parks
  • Promoting commercial activities and builds and maintains markets to deliver the daily requirements of the citizens
  • Encouraging warehousing and transportation
  • Reassuring decentralisation of government administration

Central Excise, Customs and Service Tax Commissionerate, Panvel

Headquarter of Central Excise, Customs and Service tax Commissionerate, Panvel is located at Kendriya Utpad Shulka Bhavan, Khandeshwar. The jurisdiction of Panvel division consists the area of Panvel and Uran Talukas in Raigad district. The headquarter head, Commissioner of Raigad Commissionerate, is Mr. Arun Tandan and the Deputy Commissioner of Panvel division is Mrs. S. Swaminath.

The responsibilities of the Commissionerate is to recover Central Excise duties on manufactured goods and grant rebate on the excisable goods exported through Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (JNPT). It includes the reclamation of service tax on the service providers as well. It screens the undertakings of the 100 % Export Oriented Units within the jurisdiction as well.

There are five ranges under Panvel division. The jurisdictions of the ranges are:
  1. Panvel City: It includes the area of Panvel city and area of right and left side of Mumbai - Goa road up to village Karnala, which falls under Panvel Taluka and the area at the left and right side after New Panvel on the Mumbai-Pune road up to Dand Phata.
  2. Panvel PCIE: It includes the area starting from village Khandeshwer at the left of Mumbai-Pune road and at the village Ajivali.
  3. Uran I: It includes the area covered by six villages—Mora, Kegaon, Ranwad, Mahatavali, Nagaon and Peer Wadi.
  4. Uran II: It includes all the area of Uran Taluka except the area covered by Uran I range.
  5. Kamothe: It includes Jawahar Coop. Industrial Estate (JCIE) and Kamothe of Panvel Taluka.
The most revenue generating commodities by this Commissionerate are iron, steel, petroleum products, chemicals, ceramic products, electrical and non-electrical machinery.

You may also like to visit

    Free Listing